Akimbo – On Top


Oldies but Goodies for your Summertime Mixtape 🙂

Akimbo is a spin-off project from famed Acid-Jazz (read Jazz-funk revival in the UK) band The Brand New Heavies. Band released only one LP- “On Top” in 1994.

Band members are:

Simon Bartholomew- guitar,

Nick Van Gelder – Drums (Jamiroquai),

Kofi Kari-Kari – Percussion (Soul II Soul),

Nick Seymour (bass guitar),

Jessica Lauren (clavinet, keyboards),

Neil Yates, Andy Ross, Duncan McKay and Jim Hunt (all horns),

Neil Cowley (keyboards)

Marcina Arnold (vocals).