Kamasi Washington – Harmony of Difference


He’s out !! The last Kamasi Washington album, Harmony of Difference, is out !!!

“Harmony of Difference was originally part of a multimedia work that illustrated how forces that seem to be working in opposition could come together as a composite of complex beauty. This was illustrated in the original exhibit by a series of projected paintings (created by artist and Washington’s sister Amani Washington) that were gradually overlaid to form an abstract image of a face. Musically, Washington explores the theme by writing a series of five short pieces that are also folded together into a lengthy, recombinant suite.

That extended piece, called “Truth,” was released earlier this year as part of a short film by director A.G. Rojas (which was also part of the Whitney exhibit). The structure lends a sense of déjà vu, as motifs and riffs and melodies are introduced and then reappear later. Where musical counterpoint was the driving idea for the compositions Harmony also feels like a meditation on memory, association, and vantage point. Hearing it in one sitting is like looking at a sculpture from multiple angles and suddenly the three-dimensional form clicks in your mind and you apprehend the whole.”

Get your copy RIGHT NOW !! And take a few minutes to listen to the track “Perspective” … a fabulous Jazz Funk tune back in the best of the 70’s …



The Vintage Babies – Vintage Babies


Vintage Babies is the title of the collaborative album and super group created by Grammy nominated singer, songwriter, and MC, Maimouna Youssef aka Mumu Fresh and producer, Dj, and musical director Dj Dummy The Genius collectively known as The Vintage Babies. The Vintage Babies’ album consists of 17 soul and hip hop head bangers and features musical greats like Grammy & Oscar award winning Common, as well as some incredible songwriting and vocal help from Top Dawg’s own SIR, Malik Yusef , and Baltimore’s Rose Gold from the Polly seeds.

Anthony Hamilton – Home for the Holidays (2014)


Here is the brand new album from the great soulful artist Anthony Hamilton ! As many artists at this time of the year, Home for the Holidays is THE Anthony Hamilton’s christmas album. I usually hate theses Xmas LP’s but … I gotta admit this one has an effect on me … I mean in a positive way 😉

14 tracks, with guests such as ZZ Ward, Chaka Khan (!!), Gavin DeGraw …, including 6 original songs !

Tracklist :

01 – It’s Christmas
02 – Spend Christmas With You
03 – Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto
04 – Little Drummer Boy (Interlude)
05 – Little Drummer Boy
06 – Home For The Holidays feat. Gavin DeGraw
07 – ‘Tis The Season
08 – What Do The Lonely Do At Christmas
09 – Coming Home
10 – Away In A Manger (Interlude)
11 – Away In A Manger feat. ZZ Ward
12 – Please Come Home For Christmas
13 – The Christmas Song feat. Chaka Khan
14 – Spirit Of Love

Anthony Hamilton succeeded in bringing us from Blues to Gospel, from R&B to deep Soul … Mission accomplished !

Here is Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto, song you might have loved from the Godfather himself … James Brown !

Enjoy !

Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens – Sinner (2014) #Naomishelton

Naomi Shelton. Backstage at the Apollo Theater, Harlem NY.

New album coming out soon (July 29th, 2014) entitled  Cold World by the great Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens.

Here is the first track from this upcoming album on Daptone Records : Sinner


Liv Warfield – The Unexpected (2014)


Second album of the GREAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT Liv Warfield !!!! I listen to this LP for weeks, non stop !! High pleasure alert !!!

Prince is behind this second album, but most of the creativity is attributed to this great artist, Liv Warfield. SHe’s got a powerful voice, powerful energy, great charisma on stage … Yes, she’s my Favorite new artist actually …


Her second album, The Unexpected, is tainted of FUNK, SOUL, JAZZ & GOSPEL … 13 tracks for our pleasure.

Watch her live with New Power Generation Horn section and be prepared to shout at the end !! So Powerful !!!

And this one, because she deserves it 😉  “Soul Lifted” :

Lick it !